Archive for the ‘June 2009’ Category

2009 Colorado Book Awards to be held in Aspen June 22

April 24, 2009

This year marks Colorado Humanities & Center for the Books’ 18th season recognizing and celebrating Colorado authors, illustrators, editors and photographers with a Colorado Book Award. This annual program celebrates the accomplishments of Colorado’s outstanding literati, publicizing their work to readers throughout the state. We also provide opportunities for some Colorado Book Award winners to travel to communities where the impact of meeting a published author can make a critical difference in young students’ lives. While the Colorado Book Award helps authors to reach readers, this programąs primary goal is to advance the writers and contributors themselves; promoting community, connection and opportunity. See for more information.

Our Presenting Partner for the 2009 Colorado Book Awards is the Aspen Writers’ Foundation, a program of the Aspen Institute. The Awards will be presented on Monday, June 22 (time TBD) at the 33rd Annual Aspen Summer Words Literary Festival (June 21-26, 2009). As one of Coloradoąs oldest literary centers, the Aspen Writers’ Foundation has established itself among the country’s foremost promoters of the literary arts. For more than three decades, Aspen Summer Words has been the place to be for anyone with a passion for the written word. One of the nation’s Top Ten Literary Gatherings˛ (USA Today), this 6-day  celebration of words, stories and ideas consists of a morning writing retreat, an afternoon literary festival, and professional consultations with agents and editors, bringing some of the world’s most interesting and engaging literary talent to Aspen.


2009 Colorado Book Awards – History Finalist Reading

April 24, 2009

The 2009 Colorado Book Awards History finalist reading will be held at the Colorado Historical Society on June 3 at 6:30 p.m. The finalists will read and discuss their work. The Colorado Historical Society is located at 1300 Broadway in Denver. This event is free and open to the public.

The 2009 History finalists are:
Killing for Coal: America’s Deadliest Labor War, Thomas G. Andrews
Where A Hundred Soldiers Were Killed: The Struggle for the Powder River
Country in 1866 and the Making of the Fetterman Myth, John H. Monnett, Ph.D.
Pioneer Cemeteries: Sculpture Gardens of the Old West, Annette Stott.